Rodents' Vale

BluenGreyAnorak

• RMweb Premium

Hello all,

I originally started this thread on the last incarnation of RMWeb and then as a blog on this one, but progress has been slow and blogs aren't much fun, so here I am again - third time lucky.

I'm fairly new to the hobby, having last owned a train set when I was at school and my Hornby HST set was my prized possession (was that really over 30 years ago?). A couple of years ago I was re-introduced by a friend of mine who has a large garage sized layout and I started to buy a few locos and wagons for when we "play train" every couple of months.

I then decided that I really needed a layout of my own but as space was at a premium I restricted myself to a simple plank shunting yard. This was as far as I got before a house move put a stop to further progress:

post-7013-128286332303.jpg

The new house came complete with this outbuilding, which is all mine for train related activities 🙂

post-7013-128286332499_thumb.jpg

With much more space to play with, I can now indulge my railway fantasies and have a layout that I can watch trains go by on. However, I should probably point out at this stage that I'm not, by any stretch, a fine scale modeller. My interests lie more in the operational side of railways so my locos and rolling stock will be RTR and my track will be Peco code 75 points and flexitrack.

The era I'm aiming for is the 1970's blue diesels are my 'thing' with a big emphasis on the western region.

The biggest influence on my layout design was the introduction of Hornbys' new HST power cars. I think they're superb models and, coupled with a set of five Joueff MkIII coaches, they really capture the feel of the prototype. The length of this train has therefore determined that I wanted a mainline terminus station of appropriate size and also a long enough fiddle yard. Those constraints, and the physical space available, have pretty much dictated the general form of the layout.