Pete's P4 workdesk

Jub45565

Having relocated from Wells to South Bristol last Easter, I didnt get around to much in the way of modelling for a while, and when I did it was NG so spent my time on the NGRM forum. Christmas brought about a reignition of enthusiasm for some standard gauge, so the following have been worked on during January:

4F - Comet chassis, with removable spring hangers.

Lima ex-LMS 42' CCT - 5522 bogies constructed.

Greenwich couplings (Bemo style) with a loop at one end only added to a few items of stock. I had decided on 3 link and screw couplings, but was never fully convinced due to the problems of gangwayed stock - especially NPCS which I wouldnt be able to deal with having to be in fixed rakes. I started playing with Greenwich's for my narrow gauge stuff, and this made me consider them and have been convinced.

I will add some photos later, just posting this to kick me into gear while being bored to death by Villa Man City.

post-130-0-55227000-1295726394_thumb.jpg

I resprayed the CCT a couple of years ago, and havnt as yet done anything else. I do have the flush glazing pack in stock, and will attend to the buffers and brake handle wheels as a minimum.

post-130-0-10293400-1295726410_thumb.jpg

This is the current state of the 4F chassis, awaiting coupling rods which will be pivoted at the knuckle using lace making brass pins.

post-130-0-13629100-1295726417_thumb.jpg

post-130-0-85082900-1295726426_thumb.jpg

These two hopefully show the design I have used to make the spring hangers detachable. I might incorporate pickups onto this too in time, I havnt fully decided on these as yet though.

Todays work has been on the 5522 LMS bogies. These have the brake pull mechanisms as well as the shoes, so these have been fitted.