what crane is this? (Also Palshoc vans)

• RMweb Gold

Having blown the pic up a bit I can see the load on the leading wagon includes a piece of tubular steel (well it looks like tubular steel) and what looks like a couple of parallel steel channel beams sitting on top of something else as a sort of base. I suggest it might therefore be part of a bracket signal with the tube being a doll - it looks about the right diameter - and the steel channel beams being the gallery of a bracket signal inverted and sitting on top of the gallery decking. The presence of a crane could then be taken as having been there to recover the signal and load the pieces onto the adjacent BB - sound plausible?

I would agree Mike, especially with its destination being Fazakerley where there was a signal works.

the 4 longtitudinal beams are puzzling me, as Ive not seen a pic of a Bolster E with them, although Im no wagon expert at all.

Mike

Could they be 'spreader beams', used when the crane has to lift a long, flexible, load (such as a part of a point)?

Im not sure they look like they are made for the wagon???

also, just wanted to point out, it'll be no surprise to many but Ive never noticed the additional smokebox door lamp brackets on a 2mt like 46503 here before.

Mike

Do you mean 'longitudinal', Michael, or 'Traverse'? If the latter, then they're the bolsters, which look much larger than they do on other Bogie Bolsters, due to the relatively short length of the wagon (about 32'; the Bolster C being 45' and the D 50' IIRC). The bolsters were movable, with six potential locations for the four bolsters- they located on sockets on the outside of the wagon. I wonder if Dapol could be persuaded to use the 'Turbot' underframe to make a Bolster E...

also, just wanted to point out, it'll be no surprise to many but Ive never noticed the additional smokebox door lamp brackets on a 2mt like 46503 here before.

Mike