Advice requested on hand building 0-MF points.

Dmudriver

Hi.  

I have been building my layout for some 9 years now and have it running how I want it.  However, I now want to refine it by improving the pointwork.  

On the "visible" section of the layout, the pointwork falls into 3 categories: 1) the station throat which consists of  4 points and a single slip, all built by me from C&L B6 kits;  2) a trailing crossover on a curve, again built by me from C&L kits (possibly 2xC10, but I can't be sure without further checking) and 3) access to sidings and a stabling point using Peco points.  The plain track is all bullhead Peco Streamline.  [The fiddle yard pointwork is all Peco and I am quite happy with that.]

The running through all the pointwork is acceptable but a bit rough in places: however, with a (nominal (!!) 10 mph speed limit) there are few derailments.  The points and single slip in 1) were built as separate units and fitted together later.  They used the C&L prefabricated common crossings.  The trailing crossover was built in situ, but still using the C&L prefabricated common crossings.  I have altered the look of the Peco tiebars but otherwise those points are standard Peco.  All points are operated by Tortoise motors.  Originally I wanted to build to 31.5mm clearances but did not feel I had the skill to do that, so went for the prefabricated common crossings.  I used the Peco points as I had them available from a previous layout and frankly, didn't want to waste them!!  Plus, I got the layout built more quickly. 

What I want to do is replace them all using 0-MF clearances and building each set of pointwork as one unit off the board.  I envisage replacing the Peco points first, then the trailing crossover and finally the station throat.  I want to design them all using Templot and I have just started to try and learn how to use it - I have printed off my first B6 template.

So, the advice I am looking for is: