Deltang/Micron Receivers - help please

Tickplan

I am new to the world of radio controlled model trains but have been "volunteered" on behalf of my local club to try it out on a few locos. So far I have bought and built a Tx22 , installed one Rx41 receiver in one loco and am in the process of installing a second.  Progress has not been straightforward, probably because I am new to all this and while I find it fascinating, and the way forward for the future of model railway control, I also find it frustrating when things don't work. Can I say at the outset I have received exemplary service, help and advice from Andy at Micron Radio Control - even to answering my emails late in the evening at a weekend! However, I do not wish to feel that I am pestering him too much so I thought I would come on here and gather your collective experiences with my current problem.

The problem is this: the second receiver/loco was successfully "bound" with the Tx22 and worked just fine. However, after turning it all off and coming back to it a day later it refuses to sync. The LED on the receiver has the normal steady on-off pulse of once a second but when I turn on the transmitter - with the Selecta switch on 2 - the channel it was bound to- it changes to flashing twice quite quickly, then a second pause before the double flash. The first loco (Selecta switch position 1 ) did have similar problems but they seem to be resolved and when turning that on with the Selecta on 1 the receiver LED goes solid and the loco becomes controllable. Andy at Micron has said that the double flash is "a symptom of the transmitted Selecta value being out of range". He advised me to calibrate the Tx22 which I think I have done correctly and of course it works with loco 1 so why not loco 2?