DIGITRAX DSC100 MAJOR PROBLEM

TEAMYAKIMA

Hello

As I have said many times, I am not a DCC expert, let alone a Digitrax expert. I did join a Digitrax users group but left almost immediately because I couldn't understand the questions on there, let alone the answers.

So here is my problem ........................

I have just exhibited at the 3 day Bristol show. For two days my system which uses a DSC100 and a DB210 booster worked perfectly. Then at 2pm on Sunday everything stopped. 

I unplugged the transformer box and left it for approx one minute and replugged it in. The DSC100 began beeping and so I unplugged it again. We tried to put something together using a spare old DB150.

I have looked up the meaning of the beeps in the DCS100 handbook. I have to admit that under the extreme pressure of knowing that the layout was at a complete standstill I did not stop to count the bleeps, but to me it sounded continuous.

I have looked at the manual and there seems to be two options. It lists a continuous 'clicking' but I would say that I heard 'bleeps'. It also list 16 bleeps - the maximum - and it says this means ....................

"Software timeout failure. No action is required, the unit will resume operation"

Eventually, we bodged something together using the DB150 and, as it was quite near closing time we got away with it, but we could not go to another show with the DSC100 in that state.

I plugged it in today just using one (of 12) boards as a test and the DCS100 works perfectly - so, the question is does any of this make sense ?

The DCS100 was s/h when I bought it and at a show it gets quite a bit of use - would this software issue explain the shutdown and subsequent return to normal.

Hi Paul,

You mentioned that the DSC100 was second hand when you got it. Do you know quite how old it is? Digitrax stopped production of the DSC100 in 2016 having started back in 1996...