Making battery accessible for charging

ianb3174

I have a Deltang Tx22 controller, Rx 41d-22 reciever and 3.7v battery for installation in a loco for testing. I opened up my Heljan Class 14 to find very little room inside. I was concerned that removing the body for recharging wasn't viable on a regular basis. I'm going to instal in my Class 24 which has acres of space. Does anyone know of best practice in fitting an external charging port? Ideally underneath the battery box. It's no issue to remove loco from tracks as this is normal after an operating session so I don't need charging from rails, just a small socket to connect the balance charger. Is there a thread/diagram/website with a schematic that can be recommended?  

Absolute beginner in RC btw

• Friendly/supportive 1

Ensure you use a charger suitable for Lithium batteries.  

As you’re working on 3.7V, you have only a single cell (or cells in parallel) and balancing is unnecessary, though I imagine your loco is rather slow, and can’t pull much.  I’m using 2S & 3S batteries, which do need a balancing charger (3 and 4 wires respectively), but give a higher voltage to the motor.

(Don’t just charge with the + & - as you would with a car battery!) 

You can fit any suitable, polarised, socket, anywhere convenient on your loco, and make a lead to connect to your charger.  Make absolutely certain that you connect it up correctly!  And equally, that you cannot inadvertently connect it up incorrectly!

Most definitely fit a switch that isolates the battery from your receiver, and ensure you turn it off, or the battery will discharge to a level where it cannot be recharged (safely).

hth

Edited by Simond
  • Like 1
  • Agree 1
  • Informative/Useful 1

Super, thank you both.

I have a balance charger and loco will be not pulling much more than 3 wagons on a shunting layout. I can always add more batteries as necessary if it's not up to the task.