bbishop

Hi,

I have been building Höchstädt for a few months. It's difficult taking photographs in a cramped garage, but I have a specific question.

I an incorporating a beer garden on the layout and have purchased a model of a picnic table (German = Picknicktisch). But when did they appear? Would they be appropriate for a layout set in 1960?

Bill

post-11383-0-61587300-1376300425.jpg

That's better.  With the right setting that will be fine.  The next thing to try and get right will be the size and shape of the glasses, which can be very regional in Germany.  Koelsch would be served in a 2-cl Stange, whilst in Bayern you might get your Helles in a 1l Maß.  Every type of beer has it's own size and shape of glass.

The first example, the picnic bench, is just too modern and doesn't look at all German.

• 1 month later...

Thanks, John.

We had an interesting day. Set up was relatively easy and we gently started the timetable before the show opened. This was a good thing, because one of the three way points had to be attacked with files to get anything like reasonable running. We have decided to change the three way points to the Lenz product when they are available, operated by digital Cobalts. Meanwhile, the three way points have sliding switches and the Lenz points are digital - confusing!

Then the timetable had three trains in the station at once, causing near complete lock up. Timetable now changed.

The milk platform was deliberately located in an inconvenient position. The timetable said milk van arrives, and naturally it was shunted to the milk platform, blocking access to the freight platform. It now says shunt to carriage siding!