Radio controlled road vehicles on Upper Benllech

otherplanet

Hello, I've been working on OO radio controlled road vehicles since Autumn 2012 and been aware of the work of Giles and Grasslands since last year via Youtube. However, I am only a recent forum member since Phatbob nagged me about putting some information up about the Scammell Scarab and Atkinson steam wagon I was running on Upper Benllech last weekend at the Chapel-en-le-Frith show (New Mills and District Railway Modellers)

see link http://youtu.be/w_X2WZ4RliM

They are both heavily kit bashed: The scarab was built for Upper Benllech and started as merit kit, donating the trailer, chassis and most of the wheels, it took about 4 attempts to get the coupling between trailer and tractor correct so that the power was reliable but the connection not too stiff. An Oxford diecast model provided the heavy cab and grippy front tyre, to solve the problem of it going straight on when the steering turned. (I understand the original had a similar problem).

post-25615-0-48892900-1425233898.png

The Atkinson started off as the Kiel Kraft kit (now Knightwing) this provided the wheels, cab, boiler and the steam motor. But I built a new brass chassis plus a new tipper body. I remodelled it from the 1924 version of the kit, to a 1916 version, with larger tipper overhang, no mud guards and the screw jack tipping mechanism, as my other longer term aim is to build a fleet of Edwardian / early inter-war period vehicles. It is considerably out of period for the layout, but until I have more in the 60's fleet, it will have to do.

post-25615-0-59189600-1425233942.jpg