Ashfield Common - A Low-Budget Mini-Inglenook

Hi all. After months of inspiration from other modellers, I thought I'd post about my own effort at a micro-layout. Now, because I'm new to this whole smartphone caper, I won't be doing a step-by-step account of the build, because I built the whole thing when I didn't have the ability to easily photograph it. To be honest, there's nothing particularly revolutionary about my scenic methods.

The layout is named Ashfield Common, set somewhere in West London, sometime during the BR steam era. It's a reduced Inglenook, 3 feet in length and 8 inches in width. As well as the length of the sidings, I have deviated from the standard Inglenook design by including a short siding with a coaling stage to store a second locomotive. The whole thing is intended to be self-contained.

One additional challenge was that I wanted the whole thing, including controller, scenic materials and stock, to come in at under £100. Just to keep things interesting. I should explain that my other hobby is theatre, working backstage. With a constrained budget, we often have to build our sets and props on the cheap, the challenge being to make them look good without spending a lot of money on them. I wondered if I could apply a similar philosophy here.

Next up: photos!

• Like 4

Righto, here are the first photos from Ashfield Common. As you can see, the motive power is on the cheap side. The 94xx is the main locomotive, supplemented by a couple of industrial shunters. The yard also sees visits from a Jinty and a 4F, which is currently awaiting weathering.

post-31781-0-17123200-1516537435_thumb.jpeg

post-31781-0-25881900-1516537466_thumb.jpeg

post-31781-0-13857000-1516537507_thumb.jpeg

• Like 4

Hi.

Very nice little inglenook, I'm considering one myself as I've always wanted one.

You have done well keeping it around the £100 mark, I buy second hand locomotives and wagons now as I'm finding new stuff is getting very expensive.