southern liveries

postierich

hi which comes first the olive green colour with number underneath or the brighter green.

im new to southern railway modelling loking at Hornby m7 s.

thanks

I think this is right that the olive shade of green was used during the maunsell era during the late 20's early 30's and the malachite (Bright shade) was a bulleid colour so that dates late 30's to late 40's

Hi postierich

In Brian Haresnape's 'Railway Liveries' series of books, the edition on the Southern Railway, ISBN 0 7110 1203 2, Publ'r Ian Allan 1982*, it lists two Greens for the Maunsell years, 1923-1937. The first being a slightly lighter Green adopted by Urie during WW1. This is described as 'Sage Green' (SR.1/C21), and was used on locos until stocks of this paint ran out in 1925/6. It was then replaced by the darker 'Parsons Green' (SR.2/C20), this shade having been used on the new Emus since 1915. The book refers to this colour as 'Maunsell Green'.

There was a brief interlude during 1936 when the SR were deciding on a new, brighter livery. An experimental mid/lighter version of Urie's 'Sage Green' (SR.1/C21) which the book calls 'Olive' (SR.3/C12). There's a coloured 1939 pic. of King Arthur No.789 Sir Guy in this livery, but, by then tho' it's had the O.V.S. Bulleid touch, and lost the loco's number from the tender's sides.

As you can see, like everything Southern, it's a minefield out there.

*I could be wrong, but I think these series of books were re-printed a little while ago.

Regards.

thanks guys what about shades of green ie Hornby Maunsells

I believe that all of Hornby's customers are highly satisfied with the Maunsell lined olive green. However there is divided opinion on the accuracy of the current Hornby model Bulleid green, which when introduced in real life, was described as "malachite". An alternative description is "mid chrome green".