Lancashire, Derbyshire & East Coast Railway (LD&ECR) past Buxton

• RMweb Gold

A couple of days ago Run as Required asked me to look at the line of route for the proposed LD&ECR through the Peak District past Buxton.

I've lived around the Buxton area for 16 years now and being a keen cyclist I'm well aware of the challenging terrain.

I also have an interest in the LNWR and Cromford and High Peak as well as the Midland route through the Peaks so I have some knowledge of the lines as built.

As I know very little about the line and it's intentions I thought I'd start a topic.

Research by committee if you like.

What I know about the LD&ECR's intentions come primarily from the November 2013 edition of Back Track Magazine 

This particular edition featured an article on four "might have been" routes around Buxton and I am indebted to Mike Fell and R.A.S Hennessey for the head start the article provides.

This information has been supplemented by some limited information available on the web

The Line was promoted by William Arkwright, a decedent of Richard Arkwright of Cromford Mill and spinning Jenny fame.

William and his cronies had their fingers well and truly wedged in the coal industry pie, and do not appear short of a bob or two.

The line was planned to run from Warrington on the Manchester Ship Canal to Sutton-on-Sea on the Lincolnshire Coast via the Peaks.

The idea was to provide outlets to the East and West for the coal from the Midlands areas. 

Had it been built the line would have 170 miles long.

The line gained parliamentary approval in 1891 and was fought against tooth and nail by the Manchester, Sheffield and Lincolnshire Railway (MS&LR), later the Great Central. This is ironic as the Great Central later bought the only section of the LD&ECR that was built.

Not all the railway companies were against the route though, the Great Eastern promising £250,000 in support.