Eileen’s Emporium - for all those things you haven’t a clue where to buy

Andrew D

• RMweb Gold

I know Eileen’s is common knowledge to about 95% of the good folk who use this forum. However, as a relative noob myself, it can sometimes be frustrating when attempting a project you’re following from a fellow RMWeb member, only to get lost at the mention of some obscure item ‘from my spares box’ or ‘found under a copy of Railway Modeller December 1974 on my workbench.’ 

I myself want to improve my Hornby 0-4-0s and hadn’t a clue where to get things like Phosphor Bronze strips, micro strip, handrail wire etc. 

All these things and more I could get from Eileen’s Emporium. Not only that, during Lockdown they have reduced their free postage threshold to £50 because we cannot collect at Exhibitions at the moment. 

I put in a convoluted and mixed up order yesterday morning. 

With FREE postage, it arrived to my house in the Outer Hebrides at midday today, all neatly and securely hand packed. 

Outstanding service, and a shop I am VERY grateful for. 

• Like 8
  • Thanks 1

• 4 weeks later...

I ordered with EP for the first some about a month ago, nice easy website to order with until......

Items selected (3) clicked shopping cart to pay, I didn’t want to create an account so opted to go with the guest checkout option.

Only PayPal was available as an option to pay, I don’t really like PayPal but as it was the only option I had no choice. Entered my address and details etc, clicked pay within seconds job done....or was it ? I’m set up for one click payment on PayPal so instant orders aren’t unusual.

No confirmation email came through to my inbox, or junk after several hours. I didn’t think to much about it to be honest as I’d never used them before I just thought maybe they didn’t issue them.

As the even pushed on the lack of confirmation email was playing on my mind, so I logged back onto EP website so see the three items still sat in my shopping cart.