Moor Road - 1960's in the NW

Jason T

• RMweb Premium

Hi, a newbie here, although I did post on one of the earlier versions of RMWeb. Anyway, as way of an introduction, I was a keen modeller right up until my early teens and then slipped away from it until now, approaching my 40's rapidly. A house with a nicely done out attic and a curious glance at Railway Modeller for old times sake was all I needed to spur me on to build my modest representation of a station and goods yard, somewhere in the North West, towards the end of steam. Now obviously I don't remember steam and it was a toss-up between this period and BR Blue but steam won because it's just a damned sight more interesting.

Anyway, it doesn't really have a name per se, but I have taken to calling it Moor Road which is a bit generic but means I don't have to pick an actual town, or County for that matter. Story is that this is a secondary route to the town and through services have been truncated here. There is a branch which feeds into it to allow more passenger traffic, as well as a number of industries further down the line which require running round at Moor Road. The station consists of two platforms; through and bay, as well as an additional bay to serve the town's postal sorting office. The goods yard is small and rather run down, although there is still a couple of freights a day, as well as those which run round and return up the line. Additionally, there is a turntable and basic engine servicing facilities but no shed.

The line exits to the fiddle yard under a road bridge and into a single tunnel.