Which coaches for early 1950's?

I am not new to model railways but I am new to the British prototype. Being an avid Railway Modeller reader, I couldn't resist buying a Midland 4F in early BR livery after seeing it in the review. Although primary a freight locomotive, if I understand correctly, it could be seen pulling passenger trains too. Right?

Could anyone please tell me which coaches you would recommend to use with this 4F and/or a Compound 4-4-0 (which may be my next purchase) in an early 1950's setting? Even though I have been thinking Midland region, or border Midland/Western region, region is flexible.

Any input appreciated.

First welcome to RMweb!

It depends how early in the fifties. Any of the GWR or LMS coaches available from the trade should be suitable, with the exception of the clerestories (there were a few survivors, but they would have been very decrepit by this time). In the early years the pre-natonalisation liveries would have still been about with some coaches being in BR crimson and cream (or all crimson for non-corridor stock). The first Mark 1 coaches would be around too, though they first appeared on the more important trains (principally named expresses).

It also depends on what kind of train you are trying to represent, which in turn depends on what sort of layout you are running it on. Tender locos (both the 4F and the compound) were likely to be used on semi fasts on main lines, cross country routes and the longer branch lines, so corridor coaches would be the norm. Older vehicles, such as the Bachmann early LMS panelled types, would be typical, although Hornby Stanier and the as yet unreleased Bachmann "porthole" stock could also appear, particularly towards the end of the 1950s as BR mark 1s began to displace them on main line express services.