A Highland by-way, latest some SER kits

M Wright

Hi, I am new to this medium so I hope you will all bare with me as I find my feet.  This is the start of an odessy that began 35 years ago when I collected enough information to start building my first fine scale loco in O gauge.  I have always been interested in the Highland Railway its development, its stock, its operation, the scenery it passed through, the economic change it caused to the North of Scotland.  So 35 years ago I started to build a Jones Skye Bogie loco. It was not easy. It was built in our first house as our first child was on the way 3 months longer than he took to make the engine was finished. It ran on its 2 yards of track and had a glass case made for it.   It  moved with us over the next decades and was after a few years joined by a scratch built timber wagon.

Over the last year it has escaped its glass cage, been test run, re-built, and after 6 months has finally achieved its aim.  It runs reliably on the nearby large layout of a kind friend. 

I hope what I plan will not bore you but I want to tell you a bit about the loco's build (and re-build)  the stock that has been made for it to pull, and the start of planning its eventual home . A bit of the Buckie Branch.  Below,( hopefully) is a photo of it pulling its 11 wagon train on my friend's railway.

post-10830-0-64294600-1385488112.jpg

Skye bogie No86 pulling a Lochgorm Sheep Wagon

Edited by M Wright
  • Like 14

Well the photo posted OK, so now a start. How was the Skye bogie built?

post-10830-0-12410400-1385494558.jpg

A side view of No 86.