Points wiring for 3rail

RailRat

Hello Members. I am completely new to the hobby having been given a whole lot of very old three rail. So inexperienced that I don't know whether it's DCC or not so please excuse me if I've posted in the wrong place. I have already set up half of my lay-out in the attic having available two areas of about 3.6m X 2.5m. The two lay-outs will be joined by a double via-duct, I know, ambitious. My first lay-out has three separate 3 rail tracks and all three work OK, my problem is I have about 12/13 sets of points to wire up and I don't have a clue how to do it. Would there be someone kind enough to draw me a diagram please showing how to do this correctly. Please also explain what components I need to do the job properly. I have only today discovered that the voltage need only be supplied momentarily otherwise, disaster. I have some of the little lever switches and I've taken one to pieces to see if I can work it out for myself. I've just proved to myself that I'm a bit of a thicko.......................Help please.

Have a nice day everyone.

Presumably you have Hornby Dublo 3 rail and want to know how to wire up the electrically operated points.  

It is a very long time since I last played with HD 3 rail but from memory the HD electrically operated points have three contacts, common, left and right. To actuate apply power momentarily to common and one other terminal, (If you apply it to left and right together but it will just buzz as both coils pull against each other at half power.)