Where can I get TOPS info?

JaymzHatstand

I'm relatively new to the modern spotting scene, and not very hard-core (no units, coaches or wagons for me), but like to know which locos I've seen. Working nights at the Tesco just outside York affords me great views of the ECML on my breaks, however, it's usually dark (though the lighter mornings are coming) and when a good heavy freight rumbles past, I can usually make out the loco, but rarely the number. I know there are places on't internetweb that are packed full of gen and up to the minute stock and train movements but I have no clue where they are to be found.

My main problem is that a Freightliner 66, which is one of the most common passers by, has a nice neat small number and so is very hard to make out at a distance in the dark. I'm not going to be counting something that is just a shaow, but if I can make out the branding on the loco, I can comfortably class it as 'seen' (this might upset the purists, but I'm fine with it for my own purposes)

Another great example was this morning (March 10), I was outside, by the fence, and the Network Rail inspection train rumbled past being propelled by a 31, but unfortunately my eyes didin't focus quickly enough on it's number, and as it's something I'm not likely to see again, I'd like to get it down in my Platform 5 book!

If anyone can help me find the information I'm looking for, or point me in the right direction, I'd be most grateful.

Thanks a lot

J

Hi there