Sound for an Atlas H0 Master Series Dual Mode GP40?

Hi Guys.

Having fitted quite a few UK diesels with sound, I now want to do my only US loco.

I have an Atlas 'Master Series' Dual Mode GP40.

I can see that I will need a couple of Sugar Cubes in the tanks underneath but what about the chip.

I'd like the latest ESU sounds and have heard that you need to buy a complete new drop in circuit board. The board in mine is marked  #340.

Has anyone done one of these?

Does anyone know if these are available in the UK please?

Cheers

Dave

Hi Guys.

Having fitted quite a few UK diesels with sound, I now want to do my only US loco.

I have an Atlas 'Master Series' Dual Mode GP40.

I can see that I will need a couple of Sugar Cubes in the tanks underneath but what about the chip.

I'd like the latest ESU sounds and have heard that you need to buy a complete new drop in circuit board. The board in mine is marked  #340.

Has anyone done one of these?

Does anyone know if these are available in the UK please?

Cheers

Dave

I did this two weeks ago in an Atlas GP38 which uses the same mechanism.  I used a ESU/Loksound Direct Select decoder, new LED lighting, and was able to fit an iPhone speaker over the decoder very easily; one of the ESU 50321 sugar cubes should fit very easily and sound excellent.  As you can see I was able to keep both the Atlas weights intact.

post-751-0-87313100-1472133349_thumb.jpg

Hi Craig, neat installation, where do you get iPhone speakers from and which do you get? I've looked on ebay but there's a few different ones.

Nick