Users will currently see a stripped down version of the site until an advertising issue is fixed. If you are seeing any suspect adverts please go to the bottom of the page and click on Themes and select IPS Default. ×
RMweb

CrossCountry livery colours/transfers

Hi guys,

I have a set of Hornby CrossCountry HST power cars but the matching Mk3s are rare and I'd end up with a mish mash of Lima TGS tooling and Hornby Mk3s which would probably annoy me.

I'm looking to repaint a set of Lima Mk3s into the right colours. I was wondering if anyone knows what the correct colours are and if the transfers are available please?

Thanks!

Hi everyone,

So I decided to use the bank holiday to do some experimenting on a scrap Lima coach I had. It had been taken apart many years ago for another project but had been forgotten about. I found the roof first so decided to give this a go. I've never done anything even close to this before so don't laugh too hard!

I've used Halfords spray cans. I used Vauxhall Satin Red. It is a pearlescent colour but I figured I should be able to tone down the shininess with matt varnish and some weathering. And I don't think it's come out too bad. There is enough brown, although you do catch the shine in some lights. I'm hoping it'll be darker once it's fully dry.

post-18315-0-83031100-1492175420_thumb.jpeg

Ok so throughout the day I've been working on a single coach. The two things I haven't worked out yet are the slightly fawn colour that you see between the door and the black window stripe, and the colour of the door itself.

I managed to get a proof of concept with a very good body colour but when I painted the black stripe unfortunately it bled quite a lot past the masking tape, meaning that it is too embarrassing to show on here!

So far this is what I have:

Roof - Halfords grey primer with Vauxhall Satin Red and matt varnish. It isn't perfect, but I believe once it's weathered it will be pretty good.