Copyright on old recordings

Dave John

• RMweb Premium

Ok, this is a question for the sound experts out there. 

Lets say that I have a rare record of Caledonian engines in action. Well, I do. Argo Transacord EAF  74 as it happens . There are sound clips on there which can no longer be recorded such as a westinghouse pump in full action. 

So if I were to transfer that recording to my computer, remaster it, split it into tracks and the play specific sounds while I am playing trains thats fine I think, personal use.  I have done so. 

Now lets say that I send a copy of those tracks to a sound chip expert who puts them on a chip and then makes that available to all interested parties am I infringing copyright? Would anyone in the sound chip business even be interested given the market might run to half a dozen ?

Bear in mind that I have no real experience of on board sound, I am asking the question in the vague possibility that someone either tells me that its possible but pricey or that you all tell me I'm an idiot and that I should go back to worrying about the correct number of bolts on scale chairs. 

So, opinions gents ? 

Here is a non expert starter for ten

- copyright exists in a sound recording, for 70 years

- transferring a sound to chip might be a technical breach of copyright, but if no financial gain from doing so there is no financial loss to the copyright holder. (Was copying from vinyl to tape for personal use strictly a breach?)

- but exploiting the recording by selling chips to others would be making a financial gain at the expense of the copyright holder.

If there is a market for what you have in mind, even a small one, i would have thought that the current copyright holder might be interested in supporting/exploiting it. This might even provide access to the original recordings, if they still exist. Perhaps this already happens? Or are commercially available 'steam sounds' all the result to recording preserved locos?