Haggerleases Goods Station. New Modeler, 1st Project.

Haggerleases

Hello all.

I am new to railway modeling and I have an idea for a first project. The Haggerleases goods station near Cockfield, County Durham. (About 1 mile from my house...)

Long gone obviously, but I have seen some old photos, and some of the buildings still exist (including the goods shed) and it has whetted my appetite. There is enough there to make a start.

I am looking to do it in N gauge, Possibly 2FS? and on a 4 X 2 baseboard, perhaps with fiddle yards each side.

If any of you knowledgeable people have any ideas of exactly what the track layout looked like there, what locos would have run, types of wagons etc, and most importantly how it would have run, I'm all ears. I need all the help I can get. I may need to contact some local history groups or access museum collections/archives for more info too. I'm looking forward to this.

Kind regards

'Haggerleases'

Thats a good map. I'm interesting in modeling the area from the skew bridge, which will be at the rhs of the layout, to the point at which the line turns right and goes up what is know as Diamond hill. I was at an exhibition by the Gaunless Valley History Trust yesterday, and they had a very old static N gauge model of this very scene, but silly lad here forgot his camera! I will have to get in touch with them.

Dunno if this is any good. It doesn't show Diamond Hill pit off to the left. You can make out the track plan which remained substantially unaltered till closure apart from being truncated at the road.

719086792_BknowleSm.jpg.7f143c970b19bca6567067f60f04af1d.jpg

And there's these.

https://flic.kr/p/9BTbaf

https://flic.kr/p/9BAvzc

There was a photo essay on the branch in Railway Bylines a good few years ago showing a Tindale Std 4 MT shunting the goods.

P

Edited by Porcy Mane