For a future OO Garden Layout covering all the Big-Four carriers, I have been buying second-hand locomotives and stock for a couple of months now.  This is sort of a cart-before-horse scenario, as I've bought a Victorian house which internally needs pretty much rebuilding from scratch, in a plot of land where if Ellen Ripley were here, would probably agree it requires us to take off and nuke the site from orbit to get any semblance of order in place.

However, in the safe, warm, fireside Christmastime residence of my honourable parents' home, I have begun to amass this rag-tag collection, and I've been servicing it whenever I visit.

Yesterday's batch is pictured below:DSC_0122.JPG.5b97874864659228ebfb0a3574cd368a.JPG

The 4F and Scot are mine, purchased new many (many) moons ago.  I'm pleased to announce that the Scot just needed a defluff and light lube and runs like a champ.  The 4F I simply stripped to the cogs, cleaned, lubed and rebuilt as a matter of course - I've bought four others recently and they are all receiving the same treatment.  Again, I was pleased that mine is one of the better examples of the model, albeit very amateurishly weathered by my barely-teenage self.  This will be rectified in a batch with all the others sometime 'soon', but I experimented with some number removal and found that a light touch with a glass-fibre brush lubed with IPA seemed to be a good method, followed with a polish with cutting compound, wiping up with IPA again.  A nice glossy surface now awaits transfers.