Modelling novice looking for advice on 5’ x 16” layout

Hi, first post here!

As the title suggests, I’m a total novice when it comes to railway modelling. My intention is to model a station scene in N gauge. The setting would be a fictional present-day commuter station in West Yorkshire, loosely modelled on Keighley, with a heritage railway terminus attached. However, given the dimensions available (5’ x 16” atop an IKEA Kallax unit) my original plan is looking a bit optimistic. The space also needs to incorporate a fiddle yard somehow, so it’s very tight indeed.

I’d like to have a semblance of realism to the station operations, and wondered if I could fit a truncated two platform terminus with perhaps a siding and/or small steam depot for the heritage side? What else would experienced modellers suggest to add interest and a hint of realism? If possible I’d like to divide station operations so the modern day and heritage sides are two distinct entities.

The modern line will be running Northern Rail class 150 and 153 DMUs, and the heritage line small to medium-ish locos (4F, Jinty, maybe a diesel 25) with a rake of two BR Mk1 coaches.

The classic plan to meet your need is one called the 'Piano Line', having been devised in the 1960s by Revered Heath, to fit on top of his piano!

There is a very good thread on RMWeb called "time to tune the piano", with ideas and drawings showing how the original can be updated using modern track geometry. The thread does assume a 6ft, rather than 5ft long like the original, layout, but is well worth reading. https://www.rmweb.co.uk/community/index.php?/topic/24517-time-to-tune-the-piano/&tab=comments#comment-247642

It doesn't incorporate all that you are looking for, but it does do most of it, including providing a FY, and it fits in the space, which I strongly suspect all that you desire won't!

Edited by Nearholmer
  • Like 1