Signalling Diagram for Sevenhampton

Hi all,

I'm creating a small working diorama of a GW terminus and (after inspiration here) I thought a signalling diagram in the old GWR style would be nice to display with it. Anyway, not being a signalling expert, I thought I'd get those who are to cast their eyes over it. Is the signalling correct? Are the lever numbers in the right order? Does the diagram look approximately right?

Sevenhampton_Plan_Web.jpg.9954d7bb91da9461a64fcb51b2829f9e.jpg

Any opinions?

Thanks,

Jack

• RMweb Gold

Firstly a few questions.

• What date is it supposed to be? That could make a big difference.
  • What type of trains are intended? 
  • How are you going to get wagons into the siding without a run-round loop?

If only one train is present on the branch at a time it may have no signalling other than the fixed distant plus a ground frame released by the token to allow access to the sidings, but you will still need somewhere to run round. 

• Agree 2

The track plan is deliberately basic, as it's effectively a small Inglenook diorama. The station is at the end of a fictitious branchline which leaves the Highworth branch (Swindon - Highworth) at Hannington. The era would be anything from the late 40s to early 60s (so it should be a newer diagram, but I like the pre-30s one.) Freight would be propelled the short distance from Hannington, guards van leading, with the guards van left in the platform and the train shunted into the sidings, returning to Hannington locomotive leading.  The passenger service would be a DMU, or single coach in a mixed train which would be left in the platform with the brake van. Originally the line would have continued further, but it was cut back to Sevenhampton as there was a factory there which relied on the railway to bring the workers to and from Swindon, by the time it was cut back DMUs were being used so they didn't include a loop and settled with propelling the freight.