Layout signalling questions

Hi All,

I'm trying to develop a signalling strategy for my layout, the tack plan for which is shown below.

The layout is set in North East England and may be operated anywhere from the 1970s to 1990s. It is a fictional freight yard with adjacent small DMU passenger terminus (possibly a former through station on a truncated branch line). The main junction between the running line and the yard is off-scene to the left and not part of the layout. However, it is possible for light engines to re-join the running line near the station.

I'm a novice when it comes to signalling, and would be grateful for advice on the following points in particular:

1) My thinking is that Signal A (which would probably not be modeled) would control access to the station for trains in the DOWN direction. If a train is already occupying the station, any further train would be held at Signal A. However, if a loco needed to enter the yard at this time, how would such a move be signaled? Would this require a subsidiary signal?

2) Similarly, Signal B releases trains from the station in the UP direction. Could a subsidiary arm here possibly be used to release a loco from the yard onto the running line?

3) Am I right in thinking there would be no signalling required in the yards, and that the turnouts here would be controlled by hand rather than from the signal box?

4) My understanding of ground signals is limited. Is it likely that any would be required for the track layout shown?

5) How would the trap point be controlled and signaled? Would this be the responsibility of the yard or the signal box?

Any advice regarding the above, or the track plan in general would be much appreciated.

Cheers,

Liam

shelf_1_first_pdf_13_04_2020_1631.png

Edited by Pillar

Short answers:-

1. yes