Roundy-roundy help required

Moonraking Red

• RMweb Gold

Decided it is time for another layout for my grandson. 

The main requirements are a two track mainline, with a Great Central style single platform station on an inner loop. All within a maximum 8ft x 4ft footprint with a central access well.

Making use of materials already in hand, the baseboards are recycled with the addition of some IKEA shelving. Trackwork will be a mix of Peco Streamline and Setrack, Insulfrog and live frog.

The design is a compromise, which brings me to the main stumbling point - the layout is DC analogue, but I have no idea how to wire it up! Where to locate power feed or isolating breaks.

As a complete novice I tried Anyrail (trial version) which helps explain my crude attachment.

In anticipation of help from any “RmWebbers”

Poulshot3.pdf

I assume its OO.  If so I think some tweaking is necessary as there are some dog legs and a 4" long turntable. see doodle

I don't see the point of the island platform on the inner loop and none on the outer, I would go for a simple double track oval with the island and goods loops each side like the GC used.

Turntable is unlikely to have entry and exits at 90 degrees as drawn.  You are pushing it to get a meaningful operating well inside the 8X4.  I would refine the concept before working on the wiring.

Screenshot (246).png

• Agree 1

• RMweb Premium
21 hours ago, Moonraking Red said:

As a complete novice I tried Anyrail (trial version) which helps explain my crude attachment.

Hi @Moonraking Red