Mainline to Somewhere in N gauge

NGaugeTom

Hello all!  I find myself wanting to build another layout and thought it would be good to document the progress and share the idea on the forum.  My previous layout, Meldon West, still exists and there are still some things to finish off but having received one of the Kato Class 800's in GWR green last year, my current 2ft 6 inch quarry layout just isn't big enough.  This therefore gives me an excellent excuse to go full steam into a layout suitable for it.  As much as I have been increasing my collection of stone wagons for Meldon West, I have been slowly building up my passenger stock so it's also a good excuse to be able to get this running!  I've been throwing ideas and plans around in my head for approximately two years, trying to decide on what to build next.  I've found it difficult to settle on an idea because I tend to model in the BR Blue and sectorisation years, but I also like the modern traction and have a growing collection of post-2000 models.  I'm one of those modellers who really likes the Class 66 and the fleet is growing!  Having studied endless photographs and throwing away many a scribbled plan I have finally landed on a very simple design.  As you can see from the plan below, it's simply a two track electrified mainline cutting through the British countryside.

Plan:

output-99df918e-a890-469b-8651-b6ab499e662f_WNa0B104.jpeg.7683dd92fb89ad7c9fdbab6cb164e3e3.jpeg

It's not modelled on any specific location, but the idea is to create a slice of the English countryside where I can watch trains moving through. 

The layout has to tick some boxes for me and those are:

I don't want it to be too date specific, a layout where either a class 33 in BR blue with MK1's or a Class 800 looks at home.