Dave's Diesel Bodgery

Thought I'd start a thread here for my bodgery!

I'm new to all this so please be gentle  

First up is a Heljan Class 26 which will become 5335 in early 70s condition (green , plated cab doors painted blue , Class 27 engine room door on 1 side)

For now I'll just show the first modification which was to cut in the tablet catchers (none of the tablet catcher models that are available have plated cab doors) , I have only done one side for now , I did this by cutting a tablet catcher section from a scrap 26 body I had , stuck it to the cabside of the project loco using double sided and masking tape then sprayed over with some primer to leave the shape on the body ,  I then drilled a series of holes around the shape , cut between the drill holes and filed to shape the best I could , the insert behind is the part as fitted by Heljan which I have a handful of

I did the Class 27 engine room door modification too but not too happy with it so until I do better I'll not post pics of that just yet

IMG_20220424_182244_101.jpg

• Like 5

Well last night I had a second crack at inserting the Class 27 engine room door and I'm much happier with this attempt

I thought about not posting any pictures until I was done with it but then thought sod it , at least posting here I may get some constructive criticism

My method for fixing this piece in was to first fix it in place with Tamiya ultra thin fast cement then to reduce the amount of filler needed I have had a go at something I have been thinking about trying and that's sprue goo , I watch many online videos of all sorts of modelling disciplines and that's where I picked this idea up , as I had some scraps of cut up locos it is also the correct colour

You'll have to ignore the ugliness of the work in the pictures , I've since sanded the sprue goo back and I'm happy with the finish so far although it needs a little more fettling

I will post pics of the end result when I'm done with it