Short line loco numbering

I'm new to US railways. I'm interested in short lines and have noticed that the vast amount of locos on them seem to have numbers displayed that appear to be a similar format. Is this a legal requirement and is it local to e.g. the state, or is it national?

Stu

• RMweb Premium

There is no requirements on numbering in the US or Canada apart from not exceeding 4 digits.  Some independent shortlines do have their own numbering systems but many simply keep the numbers the locos were received with or reduce them to two digits.  The big shortline "groups" like Genesee & Wyoming or Watco do have a more organised system common to all their locomotives with markings/reporting marks displayed for individual roads.

The restriction to 4 digits is to meet the constraints of the national computer systems and locomotives (and indeed cars) are always entered preceded by their reporting marks to identify ownership so you can have, for example, BNSF 1234, CSXT 1234, NS 1234 and UP 1234.  It was this that led UP to introduce the UPY reporting mark for yard power - displayed on the loco as Y123 - when it found it had so many locos it was difficult to use a straight 4 digit number for the whole fleet.  Reporting marks are also restricted to 4 characters.  Any reporting mark ending in X indicates the owner is other than an operating railroad, private owner freight cars or leased locomotives for example.

My former chum, the late Jim Boyd - one-time editor of Railfan - came over here and thought the UK TOPS system was wonderful - tells you everything you need to know at a glance and whished the US could have a similar nation wide system.  I didn't have the heart to tell him it originated with the SP!

• Like 6

• 2 weeks later...

As Mike says, 2 to 4 characters reporting mark of the railroad, 1 to 4 digits numbering, (eg AA 1 to AAAA 1111) up to the railroad how they arrange it within those confines.