Air brush concrete sleeper track with acrylic paint before ballasting

Norski

• RMweb Premium

Hi

Im a novice air brusher who has recently ruined a significant section of ballasted concrete sleeper track at my first attempt - despite practicing on sample sections off-line. Im loathed - I'm not going to - ballast more track and then spray again. 

Now I've come to terms with what ive done (by ripping it out and starting that section again), before i ruin more track is it possible to air brush track (rail and plastic sleeper with rail match acrylic prior to ballasting?  Ive just sprayed some spare concrete sleeper track (rail and sleepers) with a rail match / thinners 50:50 mix and its the base coat of grime i was looking for in the first place. (i would weather the rail area further after ballasting with some powders and washes - done on a test plank with some success).

Will the acrylic stay on or will the ballast application scratch it off or will the 50:50 PVA/water mix mess with the water based acrylic ? is there something that will seal it prior to ballast application ? would an enamel be better ?

Any advice for a deflated modeller would be very much appreciated

Cheers

Steve

• RMweb Premium

The best way is to try what you have suggested, you could try a light dusting of a matt varnish as option after the acrylic paint has dried.

Another option would be a light dusting using thinned enamel paint instead of acrylic paint.

As always try it on a old piece of track first.

Good luck, let us all know how you go on.

Terry 

• Like 1

43 minutes ago, ELTEL said:

The best way is to try what you have suggested, you could try a light dusting of a matt varnish as option after the acrylic paint has dried.

Another option would be a light dusting using thinned enamel paint instead of acrylic paint.

As always try it on a old piece of track first.

Good luck, let us all know how you go on.

Terry 

The OP has practised on off-cuts first. Top marks there.