Railway & Modelling Obituaries

RIP Jonathan ('Jim') Edwards - Somerset & Dorset Historian

BMacdermott

• RMweb Gold

RIP Jonathan (‘Jim’) Edwards – Somerset & Dorset Historian

Sadly, for the second time in just a few days, I find myself contributing to an obituary.

I’m sorry to have to report the untimely passing of my S&D friend, Jonathan Edwards (known to some as ‘Jim’). I have passed my condolences to his widow, Elspeth.

I first met Jonathan in the very early 1980s when my interest in the S&D was initially sparked. I joined the Somerset & Dorset Railway Trust; Jonathan was the editor of the Trust’s 16pp A4 bi-monthly magazine, then entitled The Bulletin.

At the time, I worked in the printing industry and Jonathan had put out an appeal for some assistance with his editorial role. We soon met and it wasn’t long before my wife was typing the copy and I was preparing what was then known as ‘artwork’ for the magazine – which alleviated many problems for him.

We soon settled into an excellent working partnership lasting many years.

To get an edition started, my wife and I would leave from our then north London home around 1830, drive around London’s North Circular Road to just past the old Neasden shed area, then dart through the back-doubles across to his Chiswick flat.

There, he would greet us with a large cake and copious amounts of coffee and we would work a way through an outline plan for the next edition. After a day or two, once my wife had completed the typing etc, I would have to meet with him to pass the typed text for proof-checking before I went to paste-up stage (no email back then!).

We both worked in central London. Depending on circumstances, we would arrange to meet at, say, the westbound platform of the Circle Line at Victoria at 0745. There, we would pass ‘large brown envelopes’ between us with not much more than a “Speak to you later!” – much to the surprise of commuters who always seemed to wonder what we were doing!