Please use M,M&M only for topics that do not fit within other forum areas. All topics posted here await admin team approval to ensure they don't belong elsewhere.

New to this, building a RES / early 90s mail layout

Hi all,

First post, having read, searched and researched for some time. I’ll also start off by saying I’m brand new to this, I’ve decided to begin modelling now as I’m on chemo and am struggling with other hobbies and fatigue, so thought this would give me a good and manageable focus. 

We don’t currently have room for a full layout, so to get me started I am going to build a collection of early Rail Express Systems vans and locos and spend some time weathering them (lightly); testing them; and, if I can get to grips with soldering, making them dcc ready. This is something I think I can manage around fatigue and nausea. 

I’ve read a lot on here about eBay, the pitfalls and prices etc. Do you have any advice for where to look out for RES/Royal Mail GUVs and coaches? I’ve trawled the net and every time I think I’ve found one at a good price (either a link or one with an ‘in stock’ marker in the search engine) I click through to the model shop and it says out of stock. Realistically I can’t afford to spend £30-40 per item (several on eBay are £60+ for guvs/tpos!), so any advice with regards to where to look for second hand stock would be greatly appreciated. In an ideal world I’d stick to unique running numbers but I am open to renumbering.

In case in helps I’m in North Yorkshire, but travel to Merseyside, Leicestershire and Devon&Cornwall pretty regularly for treatment.

Nice to meet you all and thanks in advance for any advice.

Many thanks,

Luke

• Like 1