Layout Plan Advice Update

Danknight

Hi,

I'm relatively new to designing and building layouts. I played with Hornby as a kid and recently got back into it as an adult. I built a very basic layout in garage and fell out with it as it was too big and I couldn't reach everything. So decided to take the plunge and actually attempt building something long term I can enjoy with the kids. 

I've finished building a base that utilizes the space I have available. it couldn't be massive as I need to be able to lift it to higher bracketry with another to allow the car to reside over the winter. So it sits at 6' x just shy of 10' with an off centre operating well. I've attached a picture of what I've come up with so far but before I start laying would like some feedback and advice on where I've gone wrong. 

Id ideally like to use setback for two reasons, I have amassed quite a bit so will keep costs down and its easier for the kids when they want to get involved. Although I have had to use flexi in a few places.

What I want is the ability to run two trains at the same time and maybe a 3rd shunting. on DC. Era wise, if that matters, early diesel. I like the idea of steam and diesels on the same layout.

Let me know your thoughts and if you feel I am going drastically wrong please let me know.

Thanks,

Dan

Dan Track Plan.jpg

Edited by Danknight
  • Funny 1

There seems to be rather a lot of sidings that will only hold a two car multiple unit or a locomotive and a single coach or a couple of wagons, but not much else.  Do you really just intend to run really short trains?

It looks like you've tried to fit in as much track as you can, but I can't really see the purpose of your railway?  Where are your trains running to and from and why?  There are no station platforms, it's not clear whether there is a goods yard and you seem to have several places to run round, but in each case, you can only run round a very short train (ie a single coach).