Crossovers with Unifrog

IKB 1985

I know that Unifrog has been discussed on here, I've read a huge amount of what there is but as a total newbie to model railways I'm really struggling here. After reading the various bits I understood Unifrog was the "best of both worlds" but it's become clear that contrary to what I had (perhaps foolishly) believed there is no isolation when the blades are flipped. For sidings this is no big deal, an isolating section will cure that but what is frying my brain is crossovers. How do you wire these? Insulating rail joiners will leave the area beyond the points dead, surely I don't need two isolating sections either side of the points? Any guidance would be much appreciated as electrics aren't a strong point and this is proving a very steep learning curve!

Edited by IKB 1985
Typo
  • Friendly/supportive 1

• RMweb Premium

If the cross over is made from 2 Peco unifrog turnouts and if the 2 parallel tracks are intended to use the same power feed as each other, then you can just use metal joiners on both rails. 
This is because the diverging rails beyond the unifrog are already connected to their appropriate stock rail within each Peco unifrog turnout.

Edited by Dominion

3 hours ago, Dominion said:

If the cross over is made from 2 Peco unifrog turnouts and if the 2 parallel tracks are intended to use the same power feed as each other, then you can just use metal joiners on both rails. 
This is because the diverging rails beyond the unifrog are already connected to their appropriate stock rail within each Peco unifrog turnout.

Thanks mate, but unfortunately they're not. The crossover is between two loops that should be independently powered. I'm just a bit bemused how the track behind the points is still energised.

• RMweb Premium

If you want the loops independently powered then use insulated joiners between the 2 turnouts.