Fitting Dinghams to OO gauge stock

Looking to fit these to stock for my budding microlayout. 

Any advice or pitfalls to look out for?

Currently it's a Dapol B4, a MR/Bachmann USA tank and a mix of modern Dapol, Dapol kits and parkside kit rolling stock. 

TIA

Make yourself a jig to get everything at the proper height. IIRC there’s been a few suggestions in these pages if you do a search. Depending on how tight your curves are you might have difficulty with wagons with a lot of overhang so long modern wagons and short vintage ones might cause some problems. Last item would be buffers, they need to be the minimum length stipulated for satisfactory shunting. Beyond that I’ve been using Dinghams for 20+ years with no regrets.

Cheers,

David

There are modifications that can be made to widen the loop that helps with vehicles with a long overhang.

I don't know if the Gauge O Guild who now sell them supply the 4mm version and there is also a variation around from Pre-Grouping Wagons called iirc Flippems.

Alan

On 29/03/2024 at 20:08, Buhar said:

There are modifications that can be made to widen the loop that helps with vehicles with a long overhang.

I don't know if the Gauge O Guild who now sell them supply the 4mm version and there is also a variation around from Pre-Grouping Wagons called iirc Flippems.

Alan

I'm just doing a shunting layout nothing bigger than 0-6-0s and 10 foot wheelbase so hopefully overhangs are not a problem. 

Dad uses them on his O gauge which is the attraction. And he is guild member so can order me what I need 😉

9 hours ago, Fettster42 said:

I'm just doing a shunting layout nothing bigger than 0-6-0s and 10 foot wheelbase so hopefully overhangs are not a problem. 

Dad uses them on his O gauge which is the attraction. And he is guild member so can order me what I need 😉