On My 7mm Workbench

georgeT

Hi, Just re-started my O gauge wagon building again, as l want to build a nice little branch line terminus (Sometime in the future) on the southern region in the early 60s, l have already built two southern tank locos a G6 and a 02, now l need some stock, l have built two SR 12ton wagons from Parkside Dundas, and have made them into the vacuum braked versions, l've looked at loads and loads of photos but they seem to differ in many ways, seems that no two wagons were the same? some say that the grey ones were none vacuum, and the Bauxite brown ones were vacuum fitted, then you see a photo that disproves that, research is great but its a minefeild

post-7716-0-89633700-1298635357_thumb.jpg

post-7716-0-84437900-1298635444_thumb.jpg

post-7716-0-25810500-1298635506_thumb.jpg

post-7716-0-29967300-1298635570_thumb.jpg

George,

My understanding is that non-vacuumed vehicles were grey and vacuumed ones were bauxite in the BR period but I'm no expert!

Alan.

Unfortunately except for a period which began in January 1963 and ended ??? when everything was to be painted freight stock red (BR never referred to the colour as Bauxite, presumably because it was not purely made from Bauxite ore). But yes, before and after that period grey unfitted, FSR for piped and power braked wagons.

As you will know, many unfitted vans will have been converted to vacuum brake during the BR modernisation period from 1956.

The SR used several different brake riggings on their vans. Parkside correctly use different riggings on the Meat and Banana vans.

SR vans illustrated at http://gallery6801.fotopic.net/c1823870.html

You may find some suitable photographs in the freight part of this site http://southernrailway.net/home/index.php

Paul Bartlett