Lima and Hornby coach compatability

Hi

I am new to model rail and have purchased second hand lima MK3 coaches for my to run with my Heljan class 87 and new Hornby MK3 DVT and restaurant - buffet coach and have found that the Lima coaches appear to sit approx 1mm higher than the Hornby.Upon investigation i have found that the Lima sits high on its bogie. Can anybody advise which make is correct to scale.

Thanks

The prototype dimension is 3' 5½" from railhead to buffer centre line. There is an allowance on this for wear, but for our purposes 14mm will do. Historically, Hornby have been using a 'Fisherman's ruler' and set their buffers at 16mm or thereabouts.

Look at the roof lines before adjusting buffer height - Lima tended to use bigger diameter wheels than necessary, which lifted the coach body higher than it should have been. If the roof lines don't match up on adjacent coaches of the different brands, rewheel the Limas with either Bachmann coach wheelsets (should be a direct drop in replacement) or Jackson/Maygib/Romford/whatever brand suits - although if rewheeling with anything but Bachmann you may have to specify a 26mm axle length to suit the Lima bogies

Best

Matthew

Look at the roof lines before adjusting buffer height - Lima tended to use bigger diameter wheels than necessary, which lifted the coach body higher than it should have been. If the roof lines don't match up on adjacent coaches of the different brands, rewheel the Limas with either Bachmann coach wheelsets (should be a direct drop in replacement) or Jackson/Maygib/Romford/whatever brand suits - although if rewheeling with anything but Bachmann you may have to specify a 26mm axle length to suit the Lima bogies

Best

Matthew