RMweb

Plastic Box to Tin Can (Lima 101 to EM)

Hello,

This is my first ever attempt at converting a 00 RTR motorised model to EM gauge - in fact it's my first attempt at detailing a model too! Any help would be very gratefully received...

Wheels and conversion, especially the the driving axles remain a source of angst at the moment. I thought I'd solved the problem with Ultrascale's straight forward conversion kit but they've said that it's about a 3 month delivery timescale. I find that staggering for a supply business. One drawback with the Ultrascale was the wheel diameter of 12mm when I believe, for prototypical effect, I need 14mm.

The Lima 101 is an good representation of the real thing but I've found a few bits that need sorting out. My chosen subject is a 2 car blue set dated around the mid 70's. I managed to buy one second-hand on-line from Taw Valley Models and delivery/service was very good - Thanks.

Someone had already had a hack at it in an attempt at detailing - the centre couplings had gone, replaced with bent rail, and the rear step boards on the DMC had been crudely filed down a tad.

My first job was to strip down all the bits. I then immediatley dived in and removed the roof pods above the cab ends that just weren't fitted in the 70's. This was done by filing away with enough care to preserve as much roof mould rivet detail as I could.... ...as the arthritis began with filing so the enthusiasm waned - but I got there eventually...

Next job was to begin on the interior seating and I've done my best to capture the 70's colour scheme with my mind constantly re-assuring me that most of it won't be seen!

Here's some pics on progress so far.

post-10242-0-89104100-1313822210_thumb.jpg

The above shows the pods removed and the yellow plastic showing through.

post-10242-0-05416600-1313822323_thumb.jpg