Help required - trying to recreate C&L Templates in Templot

Dungrange

I have never built track before, but plan to use three of the C&L turnout kits on a new layout. I have downloaded Templot to try and draw out my planned station throat to check the proposed turnouts would fit the planned baseboard dimensions. However, before going too far along this route, I would like to confirm the settings I need in Templot to recreate the C&L templates.

Can anyone advise on a few dimensions of the C&L components (and the corresponding settings in Templot)?

1. I assume that the flangeway gap in the preformed crossings is 1.0 mm in which case the ‘gauge’ should be set to 00-D0GAF.
  2. Are the C&L B switches semi-curved flexible switch (REA)?
  3. Are the preformed 1:7 crossings regular crossings (RAM) or CLM?

Finally, a Templot specific question, how to I set a curve making a join at both ends and allow the software to determine the appropriate radius / transition?

Regards

David

• RMweb Gold
I would like to confirm the settings I need in Templot to recreate the C&L templates.

Hi David,

Already done for you: smile.gif

http://85a.co.uk/for...hp?post_id=2130

But you can just as easily build the C&L turnout kits on Templot's own templates, which gives you a lot more design flexibility.

Finally, a Templot specific question, how to I set a curve making a join at both ends and allow the software to determine the appropriate radius / transition?

Use the "make transition" function. There is a tutorial at:

http://www.templot.c.../make_trans.htm

and it's shown being used in many of the videos.

regards,

Martin.

• 2 weeks later...

Thanks Martin,