Scottish Timber

jhock

My new layout is fictions line located in southern Scotland, it is a simple through line with a siding for timber loading, the eventual plan is to have a fiddle yard at both ends but for now one will be completed.

Set in around 2000 to 2005 and built to P4 standards the main board is 4' by 18".

The first step was the baseboards, I am not good at wood work and don't have the tools or the space for it so a friend, Paul (Flymo 748) offered me his help and use of his garage and tools.

So yesterday myself and Paul spent most of the day in his garage (plus a trip to pub for essential sustenance), I will confess now that Paul did most of the work and a fantastic job he has done!

DSCF0296.jpg

DSCF0295.jpg

DSCF0294.jpg

I still need to put some cassettes together, hence the smaller board is lower than the main board and the back scene, frame and lighting rig all need to be constructed but the point is I have some baseboards to start work on!

In the future there will be another fiddle yard so I can run through trains (when Paul lets be back round to abuse his garage again!) but for now I have enough to be working on.

I would like to say a huge thank you to Paul for giving up his time to build the baseboards.

Please don't laugh at my rubbish track plan, asyou can tell it was done on MS Paint!

Trackplan-3.png

Hi jhock

I look forward to watching your progress as although I model in 00 the location is one I have been tempted to model.

I am fascinated by your baseboard design,one I've not seen before.

I run diagonals from corner to corner to avoid any potential twist in the baseboard.

I can see that your method would save on plywood strip for reinforcing,so would be beneficial,but is there any other structural reason for the design ?

I assume the depth of the baseboard supports is to allow for tortoise or similar point motors.

Cheers Bill