GWR station benches

22xx

Good morning all,

A friend of mine is the proud owner of a GWR station bench, and would like to know more about where it came from. Unfortunately, I haven't been able to see it because it's in storage, but my friend tells me it was bought in West Wales, and apparently it 'has a number on the end'.

I'm no expert on benches, but I don't recall seeing numbers on GWR ones, and a quick trawl of internet images hasn't thrown any light on the subject except to confirm my initial reaction that they don't have numbers. However, others may well know better.

So what I'd like to know is: did GWR benches have numbers, and if so what did they signify (manufacturing batch number, station allocation, etc, etc)?

Thanks very much in advance for any help! Meanwhile, I'll try to find out what the number actually is.

All the best,

• 2 weeks later...

Hi,

No GWR Benches did not have numbers and there is no way of telling their 'source'. There are two types, the older ones with intertwined GWR in the leg castings and the later @1934 onwards type with a roundal. There is also the much rarer BR(W) type.

There are also reproduction ones around!

Tony

Hi,

No GWR Benches did not have numbers and there is no way of telling their 'source'. There are two types, the older ones with intertwined GWR in the leg castings and the later @1934 onwards type with a roundal. There is also the much rarer BR(W) type.

There are also reproduction ones around!

Tony

Thanks, Tony.

When is a reproduction not a reproduction, as a lot of the new ones that are still being made are still using the original GWR mould formers, so are they genuine or are they reproductions ! :unsure: :unknw_mini: :scratchhead: .