MK 1 Barrier coach

Hello to you all,

Hi, I'm Ryan and i'm a new member to RMweb. I'm currently a student and hence modelling on a student income (when i can afford to do so). My foucus is on Modern layouts with a speciifed area on the ECML aorund Doncaster.

Since i am curretly modelling on a budget, i have decided to focus on cheaper specific items; my attention currently is focused upon Mk 1 (HST stock) barrier wagons. I have purchased 2 Bachmann mk 1 NHA full brake coaches and intend to modify them according to the FGW blue mk1 setup.

I was wondering if anybody would be so kind to provide information on how to best imporve the coaches as this is the first modification of RTR stock i have attempted. This is with specific interest on how to construct mk 1 window plates (or where such itmes can be bought), removing and installing appropriate detailing, where to obtain the FGW blue paint and the best technique for repainting RTR stock.

Thank you for reading this and i look forward to your replies, cheers guys,

Ryan.

P.s. Appologies for poor spelling, i'm studying engineering, not english :).

• RMweb Premium

Hi Ryan and welcome to RMWeb,

I assume you mean a barrier coach like this:

http://www.departmentals.com/photo/6336-1

It looks like a simple conversion, just plate all the windows over and spray it blue. I would cut plasticard to size to make the plates. Cut them square and oversize, then use files and sandpaper to bring them down to the right size and round the corners. The window in the centre door looks like it needs fully filling. Leave the glazing in place, and use a model filler to fill it in. When properly dry (24 hours or so) sand down to a smooth finish.

Paints you can get from Railmatch or Precision Paints. Have a google, many people sell them. Or your local model shop might, depending on where you are. For a repaint it is a good idea to prime the coach first. I use Halfords grey car primer. Fairly cheap and gives a good base for the paint.