MakerBot Replicator 2 Desktop 3D Printer & Next Engine Laser Scanner

Hello

I am new to this section of the forum but have been very impressed by some of the 3D modelling people have been doing here.

I came across these two products while doing some research on 3D printing:

MakerBot Replicator 2:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3o6pcbhylmQ

and the NextEngine 3D Scanner:

http://www.nextengine.com/

I must admit that all this looks very exciting to me. Maybe the future of modelling is assured, but it is just quite different to what we are use to.

I was wondering if anybody knows how good these products are and if they are worth considering (think the 3D scanner is a few years away from being affordable, but the Replicator 2 looks to justify it's cost (particularly if you were making things for sale).

Does anyone have one of these?

Cheers

Tom

Whilst I don't have any direct experience of the Replicator, I suspect that it won't have the resolution required for scale model work - the stepping between the layers will be too pronounced.

That NextEngine scanner looks to be bloody good for the price though. Whilst it is still relatively expensive, it's a fraction of the cost of devices normally used for that kind of thing. I wouldn't mind one of them!

Whilst I don't have any direct experience of the Replicator, I suspect that it won't have the resolution required for scale model work - the stepping between the layers will be too pronounced.

Interesting. I didn't realise the stepping might be an issue with the Replicator 2. I thought the owl and the building looked pretty darn good.

And yes the 3D scanner is fascinating, it makes me wonder whether such a device would have a Napster-like impact on production. Can you imagine the copyright turmoil.

It would be great to have for replicating model houses and figures. It would really speed up production of a model.