009 Gauge Scrathbuilding

Hi,

I was wondering if anyone has any information on scratchbuilding as I'm building a model of the Welshpool and Llandfair Light railway No 85 Hunslet 2-6-2T and I need help making the chassis.

What do I need?

How do i do it?

As you can tell i'm a complete novice at this, but if anyone has any relevant information on this i would be very thankful.

Here is a pic of the loco in question;

no_85_at_llanfair_green.jpg

Thanks

Jordan

I dont want to put you off scratchbuilt 2-6-2 chassis in OO9 would be ambitious for a first attempt in scratchbuilding.

An etched brass kit for a simple 0-4-0 in OO9 or a larger scale might be a better option to gain experience in chassis building.

Its probably a better proposition to buy a book on scratchbuilding than explain the process on a forum such as RM Web.

John Aherns Miniature Locomotive Construction http://www.amazon.com/Miniature-Locomotive-Construction-John-Ahern/dp/0853440751 although dated is an excellent guide to scratchbuilding locos and covers narrow gauge and outside framed locos. Guy Williams Model Locomotives in 4mm is more detaied and up to date.

• RMweb Premium

There's a good article on scratchbuilding an 009 loco body in styrene in the current (July 2013) issue of Railway Modeller. It uses the Farish 08 chassis with cylinders and valve gear from RT Models, which would also be a good fit for No. 85.

Using a RTR chassis for a starter project would save an awful lot of time, money, heartache, heavies and brain cells :)

There are a lot of potential candidates: the old minitrix ivatt, the newish Dapol ivatt, GF and Farish prairie tanks, the Farish 3MT, or if you were feeling ambitious you could probably jig up a GF 08 with pony wheels and valve gear from RT models.