Metcalfe Goods Shed

I 've just completed a Metcalfe kit, a Goods Shed.

I've never used any of their kits before but I was very impressd with the quality of the finished iob. Really nice detail and a very sturdy build considering it is only made from card. Just need to weather it now for the finishing touch.

I've also bought the Parcels Office & Waiting Rooms kit, which also looks very good.

My first Metcalfe kit was the Goods Shed and yes, I agree, a very study model.  I remember being very impressed at the time.  I was in the process of constructing the Ratio plastic kit but I needed a smaller shed for the compact goods area at one of the stations; the Metcalfe model fitted in just right.

• 2 months later...
  • RMweb Premium

I've just bought the Parcels Office and Waiting Rooms kit as a first real shot, following on from a curved platform which went reasonably well.  One of the printed sheets - B - has the printing offset from the score lines by a couple of mm.  I have e-mailed Metcalfe and am awaiting their response.  Otherwise I'm very happy with how it goes together - especially as I am dreadful when it comes to anything requiring any degree of dexterity (no fingers, all thumbs).  Interested to know if others have experienced this offset issue?

• RMweb Premium

I've just bought the Parcels Office and Waiting Rooms kit as a first real shot, following on from a curved platform which went reasonably well.  One of the printed sheets - B - has the printing offset from the score lines by a couple of mm.  I have e-mailed Metcalfe and am awaiting their response.  Otherwise I'm very happy with how it goes together - especially as I am dreadful when it comes to anything requiring any degree of dexterity (no fingers, all thumbs).  Interested to know if others have experienced this offset issue?