HELP! - Cobalt/Digitrax

MercMan

I've tried until I'm blue in the face to get my DT-402 to activate a Cobalt Digital motor. I've followed the programming instructions and I know it's not faulty as it moves when I put power to it. But when I select it using the SWCH command nothing happens. This is my first attempt at controlling my points using DCC so I  may well be doing something wrong. I've been told by Richard at DCC Concepts that some Digitrax throttles are not factory configured to operate turnouts and they need to be set to do so. I've tried the Bushby Bit but still no joy. Think I need an idiots guide / advice.

Cheers

John

Hi MercMan,

I didn't have to set anything special for my Digitrax system to operate accessories, just selected the 'SWCH', tapped in the accessory address, then issued either 'Throw' or 'Close' depending on the point orientation via the keypad.

Are you sure the Accessory Decoder it's attached to is addressed correctly? What make / model are you driving the Cobalt Digital from?

Cheers, Mark.

There is only one Op-Switch in Digitrax command station manuals relevant to turnouts, and that's Op-Switch 27, otherwise known as the "Bushby bit".  Default should be "t", and allows normal operation of turnouts from a throttle.  If set to "c" then turnouts are operated via a computer (which is usually programmed to ensure that the request from a throttle is acted upon if there isn't a conflict).

As Mark said, it should "just work".  Out of the box the command station will operate turnouts.  The full-feature throttles (DT300, DT400, DT402 and Zephyr keypad) can work accessories (turnouts).  The utility throttle (UT1, UT4) can only drive locos, not work turnouts.

- Nigel