Re-gauging Bachmann loco chassis

I would be very grateful for any advice or guidance on how to re-gauge a Bachmann 0-6-0 loco chassis from '00' gauge to 'EM' gauge please. as I have never done this before.

I normally build my own chassis but I have come across a Bachmann loco that I can use if it can be re-gauged.

Many thanks

Mikeandnel

Which chassis is it? There are two main routes to EM, either replace the wheels or pull them partly off the axles. Ultrascale may have replacement sets, those would be easy to install, just remove the old ones and put in the new ones. But they're expensive and take months to arrive as they are made to order. You could also look at Alan Gibson, they do a lot of replacement wheel sets on the correct diameter axles, but they require quartering. The third method is to simply use what's there and pull the wheels apart a bit. It may work, I've seen it done successfully, but the axles may be too short and if it's an older chassis the flanges may be too big.

Hello Gareth

I was beginning to think that no-one was going to reply so thanks for your input.

I have always either kit or scratch built my locos but Bachmann are soon to bring

out an LBSCR E4 class loco and as I am getting older and the quality of R-T-R

models is improving, I thought I would order one and re-gauge it.

So any advice on how this could be done is more than welcome

Michael