Bachmann class 25 sound

pipparooba

Hello, I am looking for some advice. I'm new to the whole model railway thing and I have only been into the hobby since January this year. Straight away I went the way of DCC and after a few loco purchases I took the plunge towards sound locos. A little on the expensive side... but you only have a mid-life crisis a few times in your life!!  After buying a class 31 sound and a 37 sound I thought I would get a class 25 with a v4 sound decoder.

Here is where I have the problem. The DCC decoder stopped working a few weeks ago and even though I could read the CV's, the decoder would not do anything. I contacted Bachmann to tell them the decoder would not work and that it was only a few months old. Bachmann said that I needed an invoice or receipt for it. After countless hours looking, the receipt was found and the train was sent off to them early this week.

I received a reply stating that the paper tag is missing and therefore the warranty is void so they will not repair it, yet the train in question has never been taken apart, let alone had the decoder taken out.

These purchases have not come cheap and I stand to lose a good deal of money. Do I have some kind of consumer right regarding this issue?

Many thanks    

Did you fit the decoder yourself or did you buy the locomotive with it already fitted?  If the latter, did you buy the loco new or second-hand?  If you bought new from a trader (as you seem to imply) then you should have recourse against that trader under the various Sales  of Goods Acts and your receipt as proof of purchase should be sufficient.  Unless yoou bought direct from Bachmann you have no contract with them which is why they need to be convinced that your claim is covered under warranty.  Your best course of action is to take the matter up with the trader from whom you bough it - they are normally very helpful.

Good luck,

Harold.

• RMweb Gold

Is your loco 25276?