The scenic area will be slightly smaller length wise and significantly smaller width than an APA Box. The layout is designed to fit in a small wheeled case, for transport for example to club meeting and exhibitions. There is no model railway club on the island, so I have forced to join one on the mainland.

Julie

PS The next posting will include pictures of the baseboard, which are nearing completion. The layout will consist of an oval, which will link to the scenic section.

EDIT Extra information added

• 4 weeks later...

Yes the bridge is a heavily modified PECO kit.

The road surface is narrower and the height and width dimensions have been reduced, to give the impression that the bridge is further away than it is. Thus making the scenic section appear larger than it is. The width of the scenic area will be about half of the baseboard width, for the same reason.

Julie

• 3 weeks later...

Hi

I've now laid the track on Pack Lane, see photograph below. This is my first attempt at an N Gauge layout. It is very small, so that I can transport it around using public transport.

post-20065-0-74430100-1404399820.jpg

As yet the layout is un wired. It will be wired for DCC.

I will be tacking more photographs to show the track layout etc. in more detail later.

The track is laid on PECO foam ballast, which has been painted grey. This was done to protect it from UV radiation. This prevents the UV braking down the plasticising molecule, which causes the foam to become brittle. The foam helps reduce the track noise, which is a particular problem with thin cross section, plywood baseboards.

Julie

It's coming along nicely, could I suggest before you get too far along, possibly adding a siding or even a loop, on the hidden straight so you can store stock, rather than lifting everything on and off handraulically?